Preschool Weeks Two and Three


For whatever reason, I can’t seem to get past week 2 of the Brightly Beaming plan that we’ve been using this fall. It has nothing to do with the plan itself, it just seems that we never get to the letter or number of the week.

Here is our learning poster for the last two weeks:

week-2.jpg

As you can see, it’s a jungle theme. What isn’t included in this example is that during the week we colored the square green, because that is our color of the week.

You can find ALL of the Letter of the Week Prep Curriculum files HERE:

https://photojenic.wordpress.com/2009/09/11/letter-of-the-week-posters/

We’ve been reading the same jungle themed books for the last two weeks. Gavin’s favorite book is called “Hug.” It’s practically wordless, but the story is sweet and timeless. It’s about a little monkey named Bobo who is searching the jungle for a hug. Every time Bobo says “hug!” Gavin gives us a big squeeze. He totally gets this book, and even “read” it to ME tonight. Granted, he was speaking toddler-ese, but he would make happy sounds or sad sounds in all the right places, and even yelled when Bobo yelled. I wish I had a video.

hug.jpg

His other favorite part of this theme is the song “The Lion Sleeps Tonight” by the Tokens. He *loves* this song! We play it when we “do school,” and he asks me to play it over and over. LOL!

Download the Song

We also have been discussing the color GREEN. When we do school, I have a collection of green things that belong to him. I pull them out and say “Green,” and he gets a kick out of saying “Geen!”

green.jpg

Then we usually wrap up the color portion of our school day with a rousing 15 minutes of coloring everything in the house with green crayon. **snort**

As a special treat, I rented the Curious George movie for Gavin this week. I only let him watch about 1/2 hour at a time, so we’ve been stretching it out all week. It actually has a LOT of really funny dialog, I was surprised to be entertained by it myself. And thanks to the movie, I have discovered the totally kewl Jack Johnson! I love his music, and Gavin loves his Curious George video. lol…

2 thoughts on “Preschool Weeks Two and Three

  1. De'Etta

    I checked out this curriculum after reading about it on your blog. I think I’ll use it with Zander…I finally got another computer hooked up to a printer so maybe next week……but you make your posters on your computer each week? Is that how you are doing that portion of the curriculum? Maybe I’ll stay a week behind you and copy it from your blog. LOL

  2. DeEtta,
    I’m using the Prep curriculum, but it’s easily adaptable for any age. I make the poster on my computer using PSP, and then save the file as a JPG so I can print it on my printer. It fits on a 81/2 x 11 page. The information isn’t copywritten, I get the photos from a stock photo site. I’ll be happy to give you the links to download the files!

Leave a Reply

