Foodie Friday


I won Dish of the Day at my MOPS group this week with the following recipe. These things are DELICIOUS and must be eaten with a big glass of milk. :mrgreen:

CAKE BALLS

1 package cake mix
1 can of frosting
1 package of chocolate chips or candy coating
wax paper

1. Cook cake mix according to directions on the box.

2. Let cake cool, but it should still be a bit warm. This will help the icing to melt.

3. Crumble cake in a bowl.

4. Mix approximately 1 container of frosting until smooth dough forms

5. Roll cake into balls, packing tightly

6. Melt chocolate coating.
7. Drop balls into chocolate until coated. (I use a fork to lift balls out of chocolate so excess chocolate can drain through the tongs on the fork)

8. Place balls on wax paper to harden.

You can use any combination of frosting and cake mix. The cake should make approximately 60 balls. You can make the cake ahead of time and freeze the balls before dipping into the chocolate.

To make festive – you can put candy bits on top while chocolate is cooling.

My Tips:

For my first batch I used Wilton’s candy coating. When it sets it forms a hard shell. I liked that much better than the chocolate chips that I used for my second batch.

The first time around I made a lemon cake with lemon icing, then the chocolate coating. I actually liked this combination better than the chocolate/chocolate/chocolate one I made for my second batch. However, I also like them better straight from the fridge than at room temperature, and my second batch was for my MOPS group, so it sat on the buffet table at room temp. I was hounded by everyone there for the recipe, so obviously room temperature is just fine for most people. *grin!* I would still recommend the candy coating either way, because the chocolate chip coating was sticky at room temp.

I used a cookie scoop to make the balls from the dough. It was fast and easy, and then I popped them into the fridge for about 30 minutes to set up before dipping them in the chocolate.

If you happen to have a melting pot for your chocolate, I highly recommend using it for dipping. The first time around I tried melting the coating in the microwave and it ended up being a struggle. The second batch Frank pulled out his Wilton’s melting pot and it made dipping process SO much easier. I think he got it at Michael’s with a coupon. It didn’t come with any tools, so I’m still trying to find the best way to dip them with the least amount of mess.

chocolatepromeltingpot.jpg
If you make a batch, let me know how they turn out!

2 thoughts on “Foodie Friday

  1. De'Etta

    These look so good…and I’m quite sure there is no way for me to adapt them but they could be a “take them away from home” treat. LOL

    Having a munchie attack.

Leave a Reply

