FREE Fruits & Veggies File Folder Sorting Game


I’ve been on a mission lately.

When Chelsea was little, I had taken a college class that required us to make file folder games and present them to the class. Not only did I get an “A” on the assignment, but I also had something fun to keep her occupied. Win/Win all the way around!

Fast forward to today. Once again I find myself making games, but this time for Gavin. Thanks to the Internet, it’s a lot easier to get ideas, and I’ve discovered other cool things like lapbooking. There are also quite a few groups at Yahoo devoted especially to making these types of games.

I decided to try my hand at making my own File Folder game. I have a lot of ideas floating around in my head about different kinds of games to make, and some other ideas about perhaps making some games that would be useful to my fellow homeschoolers. (I don’t want to give away too much information, and have someone steal my idea.)

In the meantime, here is a game for YOU! It’s my first attempt, and is very “plain vanilla.” First download and unzip the files. You will also need Adobe to open the files once you download them.

Please be kind and leave me a comment if you download the files. Better yet, if you make the game please let me a comment and let me know how you liked it, and any changes or improvements you would like to see. Thanks!

img_0188_resized.jpg

img_0190_resized.jpg

DOWNLOAD THE FILE HERE

8 thoughts on “FREE Fruits & Veggies File Folder Sorting Game

  1. Hi Jen!
    This looks great. I downloaded it and can’t wait to make it and try it with the new kids. I’d love to know about Bridget’s group. I must have missed this along the way somewhere.
    I’ll let you know how it works when I get it done.
    Thanks!

  2. De'Etta

    Jen – this looks fun. I’ll see if I can get this computer to unzip a file. ::snort::

    I bought some wonderful colored file folders a month or so ago and have been making folder games. I haven’t done the lap books yet but the games and history quilt are keeping us going nicely. LOL

  3. De'Etta

    Ok- downloaded without a problem…and I will probably go ahead and make this up but it will be much COOLER when my color printer is working. I swear I’m not a total dunce but these machines KNOW that Mike is deployed and are possesed. Two printers and one computer down since he left. ::snort::

    One thing that the “math folder game” book that I got from scholastic does that I like is that they have you make a little pocket on the front of the folder and you can store your game pieces right in there. I laminated our playing pieces but wasn’t sure how to laminate the folder itself…will it still fold nicely for storage if it is laminated? If so, I’ll be motivated to get a bunch of games made up so that I can go get them all laminated at the same time. LOL

    You have the greatest little things on your blog. Thanks!!!

  4. Connie

    Hi Jen,
    Thanks for posting such a great idea! I’ve downloaded it but can’t open it. Urgh… Any idea why? I did some lapbooking before and this is so much easier for my 2yod. The older ones may join in the fun, too.

Leave a Reply

