Back to School


This week was our first week back after our Christmas break. This is a WOYO week for TOG, but Chelsea did have Chemistry class today. It’s really nice being back to our normal routine.

During Chemistry I hit the used bookstore to see if I could find a beginners book on knitting and some books C needs for school. I was only able to find two books (Uncle Tom’s Cabin and Red Badge of Courage) for her, no knitting books, but a neat looking book called “Teach Me to do it Myself; Montessori Activities for You and Your Child.” Some of the activities are basic lifeskills (washing hands, brushing teeth) the the instructions are laid out using the Montessori method. Other chapters include senses, language, number sense and science.

After Chemistry we headed to the library for Chelsea’s volunteer time. She talked with them about bumping up her volunteer hours to four hours a week. Chelsea is participating in the Congressional Award Program, and needs 90 volunteer hours in 6 months to qualify for the Gold Certificate. She will also be setting Fitness, Personal and Exploration/Excursion goals soon. I’m excited about seeing some of the creative ideas she’s been considering to meet her goals. We’ve been encouraging her to “go for the gold!” and to strive to complete the whole program in 2 years. If she achieves the Gold Medal level, she will actually be invited to Congress to recieve her award. KEWL!

Gavin only had a 15 minute nap today, so he crashed hard about 8pm. That was a nice change from MIDNIGHT. Ugh! For the last two or three weeks he’s been staying awake until the wee hours, preventing me from getting any work done. I don’t know *what* to do with this boy.

Did I mention I’m knitting a baby bib? And I don’t even know how to knit! Lol…. I’ve always wanted to learn, but never seemed to find the time. I discovered that since I’m so used to holding the yarn in my left hand (I also crochet), that Continental Knitting would be the easiest for me to learn. I’m trying to find a good beginners book, like Teach Yourself Visually, but I can’t seem to find anything at the used book stores. In the meantime, I’m using the videos at KnittingHelp to learn. I just did a long tail cast on! Whoo-hooo! lol……

::::::::::

By the way, I really want one of THESE. Wouldn’t it make a great addition to our bathroom? I really do think it’s kinda kewl, in a funky sort of way. lol!

shop-fishnflush-big.jpg

5 thoughts on “Back to School

  1. Ha-ha! Actually, it’s a really clever design. The fish tank is in a U shape, the the toilet tank in another clear tank in the center of the U. So the fishies never get flushed. lol….

  2. ahem…about your knitting…I got a book at wal-mart, it was more of a kit. I’m not very good, but I want to knit a scarf just to say I actually knitted something.

Leave a Reply

