The one where I ramble, then give away a freebie.


Best: Hooray! DS got a clean bill of health from the doctor today. No sign of strep throat. If he contracts it again, we’ll have to take more drastic measures…like possibly removing his tonsils, since he’s had strep twice this past month.

Worst: I can hardly believe that next week is Independence Day. *Whew!* The older I get the faster the year seems to zoom past. When I was a kid, it seemed like time moved a lot slower than it does now. Anyone else feel like that? It wouldn’t be so bad except I always feel like I’m a month behind.

For example, I barely pulled off Father’s Day, and now I have less than a week to plan for DS’s third birthday. We’re having the party here…but I need to figure out decorations, a cake, and *activities* to keep the hordes, terrors, boys from trashing my house happy and entertained. We’re going with the Backyardigans for the theme of this party. I figured he would want Diego or Thomas, but he really wants the Backyardigans instead. He has also insisted that he wants a “bike toy” for his birthday. We saw a cute Radio Flyer bike at Stuffmart that we are considering getting for him.

Weirdest: My husband telling me he spent $40 on stamps. 😯

We were at Sam’s Club picking up diapers when I remembered that I desperately needed stamps. I asked DH to ask the cashier if they had any, while I chased DS. When DH met me at the exit, he told me they only sold the stamps in a roll of 100. Since I wasn’t in line with him, he made a “command decision” and bought them.

After I picked myself up off the floor, DH assured me that it was a good investment because he got the G series stamps. I sure hope so! lol…

Ever see the movie 1776? It’s a tradition at our house that we watch it some time during the week of July 4th. It’s the story of how Continental Congressmen John Adams and Benjamin Franklin coerce Thomas Jefferson into writing the Declaration of Independence as a delaying tactic as they try to persuade the American colonies to support a resolution on independence. Some of the spoken and sung dialog are taken directly from the letters and memoirs of the actual participants.

In honor of America’s upcoming birthday, I created a wordart freebie based on a quote from George Washington. It’s a rather generic quote, so you should be able to use it on a variety of projects. Click on the image to download the file. PLEASE DO NOT SHARE MY LINKS/FILES WITH OTHERS. Simply link them up to this blog post so they can get their own copy. Please leave me some love in the comments if you download the freebie. Thanks!

5 thoughts on “The one where I ramble, then give away a freebie.

  1. Jen,
    I hate to tell you this but time *IS* moving faster… and I don’t “feel” like I’m a month behind, I AM a month behind (LOL)! We have SO many birthdays in June it’s hard to keep up. We managed to get everyone taken care of except our 4 year old who still hasn’t had a “friend” party yet. I’ll have to do that this month sometime.

    I think you’ll be ok on the stamps. In fact, I plan to buy a BUNCH of them before they go up again because my understanding is that you buy the stamps and can still use them even after a price increase.

    And… glad your ds is feeling better!

Leave a Reply

