June Round Up


Thanks to Katie the Scrapbook Lady for this challenge!

What books and/or magazines did I read this month?

Um…that’s a hard one! I read several Max Lucado books, although I can’t remember all the titles. I keep scrapbook magazines scattered all over the house, and read bits and pieces of them when I get a free moment.

The main books I’ve been reading are the “Strong Women” series by Dr. Miriam E. Nelson of Tufts University. Her books are specifically written to help women prevent or overcome the effects of osteoporosis. Her other book, “Strong Women Eat Well,” is a great nutritional resource. I’m following her strength training plan in her book “Strong Women Stay Slim.” I only started this week, so I’ll keep you updated on the results. I’m pretty excited about it, especially since I really need to work on my upper body strength.

lthough I don’t have osteoporosis, my mom does have osteopenia. That, plus the fact that I became medically post-menopausal when I was 36, puts me at a higher risk of developing it. Women can lose up to 3% – 5% of their bone mass within the first five years after menopause. I’m having a bone scan later this month to check out my current status.

Interestingly enough, being overweight in this instance has probably helped me, because the extra weight puts more stress on the bones, which helps keep them from becoming brittle. However, by making sure I’m getting enough proper nutrients and doing strength exercises, I can help prevent bone problems from developing while dieting, and after getting to a healthier weight.

What movies and/or tv shows did I watch this month?

Ha! Since we have a Netflix membership, we watch a wide range of shows. DS watches Curious George, Diego, Backyardigans, Veggie Tales, Bob the Builder, and Thomas the Tank Engine. (Not all on the same day, mind you!)

The rest of us watch Quantum Leap, Pretender, and MASH pretty regularly. We just started the old Dick van Dyke series, and are really enjoying them. We watch Biggest Loser when we can catch it. Right now we’ve seen about 4 shows from each season, and it’s really confusing. We also watched a couple of Fred Astaire movies, “Top Hat” and “Shall We Dance.” DS really loved the tap dancing, and keeps asking for more dancing movies. lol…. We also watch “Good Eats” during the week. I really dislike cooking shows in general, but “Good Eats” is such a great mixture of silliness, science and great recipies that even I enjoy watching it. (My grandfather’s name was Alton, too.)

DH got the MythBusters DVD for Father’s Day. He and DD are big fans of the show. The only thing we don’t like about the DVD is that in the earlier episodes, they shoot some of the commentary in their office, and there is a tortured, nearly beheaded dead guy mannequin in the background. It’s pretty gross.

What special days did I celebrate and how?

Father’s Day was it for this month. DS had been sick with strep (again!), so all I really did was take DH out to Panera for brunch. Actually, that’s a bigger deal than it might sound, because I can’t remember the last time the two of us went out without the kids. Lol!

What gifts did I give and/or receive?

We gave DH gifts for Father’s day ( a couple of DVDs and a CD). For my Dad and FIL, I made them both digiscsrapped LOs, printed and framed them. I also made one for my Uncle who is dealing with some difficult medical issues.

What illnesses or health concerns did I have?

DS had strep for the second time in a month. DD and DH were perfectly healthy, as always. And I kept exercising and working on my diet.

Actually, I shouldn’t call it a diet because I’m not feeling deprived. Lol! I’m just eating much healthier than before. Less fast food and simple carbs. More complex carbs, fruits and veggies, and portion control. The only thing I’ve cut out completely is soda. I missed it at first, but now I don’t even want any.

What fun things did I do with my friends and/or family?

Urgh…I can’t really think of anything off the top of my head. Isn’t that terrible?! I mean, we have fun just hanging around the house, so does that count? We didn’t do much this month because of DS having strep.

What new foods, recipes or restaurants did I try this month?

Panera, and I looooooove it!

What special or unusual purchases did I make?

Um….nothing I can think of. Believe me, when I get something fun (like a new car!), you’ll be the first to know. :mrgreen:

What were this month’s disappointments?

I found out the counselor I’ve been seeing (for anxiety/panic issues) is out of network. Bummer! That means we’re going to have to pay out of pocket for me to keep seeing her.

What were my accomplishments this month?

I have no idea, isn’t that sad? I read recently about someone who keeps a daily “accomplishment” list, instead of a “to-do” list. I might need to start on of those myself. That way I’ll have a record of what I’ve *done* rather than what I haven’t gotten around to yet.

Oh, just thought of one! I got all my photos sorted and packed for shipping to Shoebox Reprints. I got an email from then last night that my photos have been scanned and mailed. I should get the box sometime this week. Yay!

Anything else noteworthy to record?

I can’t think of anything. I’ll have to consult with the rest of the family and update if we can think of something. lol…

One thought on “June Round Up

Leave a Reply

