Hank the Cowdog


We had a special treat this afternoon. We got to see and meet the author of the Hank the Cowdog series, John Erickson! If you are already familiar with the series, you’ll be happy to know that Mr. Erickson is just as funny in person as he is on his audio books. And if you AREN’T familiar with them….get thee to a library now!

As much as I love books, I have to admit that I love the Hank audio books more than the books themselves. Mr. Erickson does all the character voices himself, and they are hysterical! During his presentation, Mr. Erickson sang quite a few songs from the books, and even had some of the kids come up on stage with him and sing their favorite songs along with him.

Although the presentation was short, I was left with the feeling that John Erickson would be a very interesting person to know. While we only got to see his “public” persona, he seemed to have a lot of depth to his character. You could tell that he valued his readers as people, was a man of faith and values, and felt strongly about family. I’m really glad we got this opportunity to see him in person.

DS was a little too young to really understand the presentation, but loved the bluegrass music! We even got Mr. Erickson’s signature. 

He read a chapter from his new book during the presentation. It was fun hearing and “seeing” the characters come alive in front of us.

Yeah, so I’m a dork. I wanted to have my picture taken with him. My kids weren’t interested. *snort* 

4 thoughts on “Hank the Cowdog

  1. We are Hank the Cow dog lovers here, too. And, I agree. We enjoy the audio version more than the books because of his reading! There’s no way I could keep all of those voices straight (LOL) if I were reading them that way.

  2. De'Etta

    What a treat! I am hoping that he’ll be somehwere – at a convention or something – before we leave TX. We LOVE to listen to the Hank audio books – don’t think we’ve ever really read any of the books – the audios are so fun….

Leave a Reply

