Day One


New Years Day Celebration
New Year's Day Celebration

Quote:

Glory to God in highest heaven,
Who unto man His Son hath given;
While angels sing with tender mirth,
A glad new year to all the earth.
~Martin Luther

Journaling Prompt:

Last year Ali Edwards introduced the scrapbook world to the idea of choosing a single word to be that focus for the year. From her blog:

Can you identify a single word that sums up what you want for yourself in 2009?

It can be something tangible or intangible. It could be a thought or a feeling or an emotion. It can be singular or plural. The key is to find something that has personal meaning for you. This is not your mother’s word or your spouse’s word or your child’s word – this is YOUR word.

One little word can have big meaning in your life if you allow yourself to be open to the possibilities. And here’s one thing that is totally interesting: sometimes a word will pop into your brain and it will not make any sense to you right now. Give it some time. Let it percolate a bit. I have often found that our hearts speak to us in very unique ways. Maybe this is a word you need to hear but just aren’t ready for it yet. Again, be open to the possibilities.

My word for this year is Simplify. It’s the same one I had last year, but it encompasses so much in my life that I still need to address. I need to stop trying to make things more complicated than they have to be, and rearrange things (declutter) so that my environment is more peaceful.

What’s your word for 2009?

2 thoughts on “Day One

  1. I guess I better get over and read her blog again. I haven’t had a chance to read it since about the 2nd week of doing the December Daily album which I also need to finish before too much of January gets away from me (LOL).

  2. We have the same word! Unfortunately, I’ve complicated my life something fierce with P365 and ADSR (Amazing Digi Scrap Race). Someday I will learn!

Leave a Reply

