January is National Hot Tea Month


tea time
photo from the stock xchgn

I’ve been reading up on the health benefits of green tea and I’ve decided to add it to my diet. About a year ago I gave up all caffeinated and sugar drinks (read: soda, coffee, lemonaid, etc.), and started drinking 8 glasses of water a day.

I was surprised to discover recently that what I thought was tea was actually a tisane, or herbal tea. True teas come from the camellia sinensis plant, and includes white, green, oolong and black teas. Those true teas are the ones that have the health benefits of anti-oxidants that help combate such conditions as cardiovascular disease, cancer, infections, impaired immune systems, high cholesterol, and more.

Obviously it’s not a “miracle” cure, and doesn’t guarantee that you’ll live in perfect health forever. But it does have many scientific proven benefits, and gives me an extra oomph into my diet that regular water can’t provide. Plus, it tastes better than regular water. :mrgreen:

A couple of books I’ve been reading are the “Ultimate Tea Diet,” and “The Green Tea Book.” The Ultimate Tea Diet isn’t what I would consider the definitive guide to tea, but there are some interesting recipes and ideas for using tea in your everyday cooking. The Green Tea Book has been much more interesting in the history of tea, and cites lots of scientific studies to back up tea’s medical claims.

Although there is a lot of hype right now about Green Tea, the books I’ve read seem to suggest that White Tea (leaves picked and harvested before the leaves are fully open and when the buds are  covered by fine white hair.) contains more active cancer-fighting antioxidants than green tea. It also has about 90% less caffeine than a cup of coffee. Which is wonderful for people like me who are sensitive to caffeine.

Right now I’m mostly drinking Rishi loose leaf teas. And Frank and I are planning on visiting a local tea house on our next date night. Right now I just boil some filtered water in the microwave and steep the tea in my mug with my infuser. I’m even thinking of having a bi-weekly “tea party” with G. Maybe even adding in a “art study” and some classical music a la Little Einsteins.

Take a look at this tea set:

I absolutely ADORE this set!
I absolutely ADORE this sugar and creamer set

And how about these tea cups? Adorable!

I'd love to have a set of these!
I'd love to have a set of these!

How would you describe your perfect cup of hot tea? Do you have a favorite tea snack to share? I’d love to hear how tea fits into your day.

One thought on “January is National Hot Tea Month

Leave a Reply

