Names


I’ve been thinking about changing our homeschool name. Because you know, it’s more crucial to have a cool homeschool name rather than lesson plans for the first few weeks of school. Um…yeah.

In Texas we are considered private schools, and don’t have to file any kinds of papers. (Unless you are pulling your kids out of public school, then you have to file something. The kids never attended TX schools so I don’t really know what’s required.) I thought KY was a pretty easy place to homeschool, but TX is even easier. We don’t have to have an Official School Name, but way every once in a while I’ll need to fill out a form that says “school name.” I really don’t mind filling in the blank with “Homeschool,” but it sounds bland and dreary.

We’ve unofficially used “Discovery School” but it never sounded quite right to me. So today I set out on a quest to gather ideas and come up with a new name. Here are just a few names I considered:

P(lastname) School for Wayward Boys

P____ Academy for the Highly Energetic

The School of Infinite Questioning

Streetname Road Insane Asylum

The School of Barely Controlled Chaos

And my personal favorite: Our Lady of Perpetual Yelling

The name I actually settled on is “Ambleside Liberal Arts Academy”. It’s a bit of a mouthful, but it represents my goals for our homeschool. I’ve followed Charlotte Mason education philosophies (mostly) since I started homeschooling C, low these many years ago. I also have been making art, music and poetry a significant part of G’s education, *especially* because he’s a boy.

I also didn’t want anything cutesy because I’d like for him to (potentially) be able to use the name for all 12 years. I can’t imagine he’d be thrilled having a name like “Lego Hero School” on his high school diploma. (Then again, it does sound kinda cool!) So now that I have that emergency handled, I can get back to finishing my lesson plans.

How about you? Do you have a name for your homeschool?

3 thoughts on “Names

  1. I love all your choices! We used to be Highland Academy. Why? We lived on Highland Avenue. I know – I’m so very creative. LOL Now we are Freedom Academy. I have that explained on our school blog but essentially it’s because we have the freedom to homeschool. Lego Hero Academy huh? I’d best not share that with my boys or they’ll want to change it. LOL

  2. I went through the same feeling you are having on what to name our school. We aren’t required to have anything formal here either, but I am an “all or nothing-er” so wanted it all to seem official. We went with Arbor Creek Homeschool. Nothing fancy, cutesy, or too over the top, and something that can seem “official”. Good luck! Let us know what you choose.

  3. I love it! Our Lady of Perpetual Yelling! That is hilarious. As is The School of Barely Controlled Chaos.
    We don’t have a name for our new little homeschool as of yet. I guess I could just use Creekside Learning (the name of my blog) Academy or some such thing.
    Anyway, thank you for the good laugh along with my morning coffee this morning. šŸ™‚
    Julie

Leave a Reply

